Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Misc. Feedback Kaspersky warns this site as trojan downloader?


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2009, 09:26 AM   #1
Toops144
Member
 
Toops144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 34
Default Kaspersky warns this site as trojan downloader?

Must be something wrong... I know, but everytime I enter this site Kaspersky throws a warning at me that this site has a hidden trojan. Must be some sort of False Positive me thinks but was quite alarmed.

Supposedly from this site there's a: Trojan-Downloader.JS.Iframe.bxv which you can see on their updated virus list:

http://www.kaspersky.co.uk/viruswatc...h_virus=iframe

Anyone have any ideas. Also would hope that Kaspersky's false positives would NOT be turning peeps away from this site.
Attached Images
   
Toops144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 09:45 AM   #2
Toops144
Member
 
Toops144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 34
Default

Attachment of closeup, hope this helps...
Attached Images
 
Toops144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 10:44 AM   #3
kuze
In an evening of July...
 
kuze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 502
Default

It's just thickbox, an js library, also located here. Kaspersky just doesn't like 'compressed' javascript, as it is often used as malware loader. In this case however everything is fine.

Antivirus software often sucks like that.
kuze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 11:09 AM   #4
Toops144
Member
 
Toops144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kuze View Post
It's just thickbox, an js library, also located here. Kaspersky just doesn't like 'compressed' javascript, as it is often used as malware loader. In this case however everything is fine.

Antivirus software often sucks like that.
Ahh thanks mate, tried adding it to trusted sites but to no avail and went onto the link you gave and here's what it gave me:

I'll contact Kaspersky to tell them this is a brilliant site with no malicious code whatsoever. They are smelly heads and are being naughty aren't they
Attached Images
 
Toops144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 01:40 PM   #5
Toops144
Member
 
Toops144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 34
Default

Sent them a copy of my report and think they have sorted it as don't get the errors anymore. Yay! can get rid of this thread now thanks kuze!
Toops144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 02:09 PM   #6
tabacco
Ate all your bees
 
tabacco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Marin County, CA
Posts: 2,452
Send a message via ICQ to tabacco Send a message via AIM to tabacco Send a message via Yahoo to tabacco Send a message via Skype™ to tabacco
Default

I guess it decides that anything that injects an iframe is a trojan, which is definitely a venn diagram situation. Some trojans inject iframes, but not all things that inject iframes are trojans
tabacco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.